Commited to protecting your
rights & interests

The firm is best known for its expertise in Civil, Corporate and Commercial practice. The firm also has an active real estate and litigation practice.


Family Law Acts

1. Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005
2. The Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961
3. The Foreign Marriage Act, 1969
4. The Guardians And Wards Act, 1890
5. The Hindu Marriage Act, 1955
6. The Hindu Minority and Gaurdianship Act, 1956
7. The Indian Divorce Act, 1869
8. The Maternity Benefits Act, 1961
9. The Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act, 1939
10. The Special Marriage Act, 1954
11. The Hindu Adoptions and Maintenance Act, 1956


Adoption as a legal concept was available only among the members of the Hindu community except where custom permits such adoption for any section of the polity. Only Hindus were allowed to legally adopt the children and the other communities could only act as legal guardians of the children.

Domestic violence

Domestic violence is one of the gravest and the most pervasive human rights violation. For too long now, women have accepted it as their destiny or have just acquiescence their right to raise their voice, perhaps, because of the justice system or the lack of it or because they are vulnerable, scared of being ostracized by their own because domestic violence still remains a taboo for most women who suffer from it or for other reasons best known to them,


Divorce is a state of separation between the husband and wife. When things go out of control, many a times, it gives rise to a situation like 'divorce'. Many a times, in-house settlements are tried or mutual consent is tried between the two parties to arrive at a consensus or settlement. In spite of all these, if nothing materializes, it could result in a divorce case.A petition for divorce could either be contested or mutual consent. Hindu Marriage Act was enacted in 1955 to regulate personal life among Hindus, especially the institution of marriage, its validity, conditions for invalidity and applicability. The Special Marriage Act, 1954 is an Indian legislation enacted by the Parliament of India to provide a special form of marriage for the people of India and all Indian nationals in foreign countries, irrespective of the religion or faith followed by either party. But the Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act 1939 lays down several other grounds on the basis of which a Muslim wife may get her divorce decree passed by the order of the court.


Service and Labour Law

1. The Child Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Act, 1986
2. Contract Labour (Regulation and Abolition) Act, 1970
3. Employees Provident Fund and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952
4. Employees State Insurance Act, 1948
5. Employers Liability Act, 1938
6. The Industrial Disputes Act, 1947
7. Labour Law (Exemption from Furnishing Returns and Maintaining Registers by Certain Establishment) Act, 1988
8. The Minimum Wages Act, 1948
9. The Trade Unions Act, 1926
10. Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923

The labour laws of independent India include right to work of one’s choice, right against discrimination, prohibition of child labour, just and humane conditions of work, social security, protection of wages, redress of grievances, right to organize and form trade unions, collective bargaining and participation in management.
The First National Commission on Labour was constituted on 24.12.1966 which submitted its report in August, 1969 after detailed examination of all aspects of labour problems, both in the organised and unorganised sector. The relevance of the dignity of human labour and the need for protecting and safeguarding the interest of labour as human beings has been enshrined in Chapter-III (Articles 16, 19, 23 & 24) and Chapter IV (Articles 39, 41, 42,43, 43A & 54) of the Constitution of India keeping in line with Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles of State Policy.


Property Law

1. Transfer of Property Act 1882
2. The Hindu Disposition of Property Act, 1916
3. The Public Premises (Eviction of Unauthorised Occupants) Act, 1971
4. Land Acquisition Act, 1894
5. Registration Act, 1908

Transfer of Property

Where any transaction relating to immovable property is required by law to be and has been effected by a registered instrument, any person acquiring such property or any part of, or share or interest in, such property shall be deemed to have notice of such instrument as from the date of registration or, where the property is not all situated in one sub-district, or where the registered instrument has been registered under sub-section (2) of section 30 of the Indian Registration Act, 1908 (16 of 1908), from the earliest date on which any memorandum of such registered instrument has been filed by any Sub-Registrar within whose sub-district any part of the property which is being acquired, or of the property wherein a share or interest is being acquired, is situated:

Land Acquisition

“Land Acquisition” literally means acquiring of land for some public purpose by government/government agency, as authorized by the law, from the individual landowner(s) after paying a government fixed compensation in lieu of losses incurred by land owner(s) due to surrendering of his/their land to the concerned government agency.
Whenever it appears to the land in any locality is likely to be needed for any public purpose or for a company, a notification to that effect shall be published in the Official Gazette and in two daily newspapers circulating in that locality of which at least one shall be in the regional language, and the Collector shall cause public notice of the substance of such notification to be given at convenient places in the said locality.


Registration deals with conservation of evidence, assurances, title, publication of documents and prevention of fraud. It details the formalities for registering an instrument. Instruments which it is mandatory to register include:
(a) Instruments of gift of immovable property;
(b) Other non-testamentary instruments which purport or operate to create, declare, assign, limit or extinguish, whether in present or in future, any right, title or interest, whether vested or contingent, to or in immovable property;
(c) Non-testamentary instruments which acknowledge the receipt or payment of any consideration on account of instruments in (b) above.
(d) Leases of immovable property from year to year, or for any term exceeding one year, or reserving a yearly rent

Real Estate Law

State laws governing real estate

While each state has its own set of laws, which govern planned development, rules for construction and floor-area-ratio (FAR) or floor-space-index (FSI) and formation of societies and condominiums, two laws that exist in every state, are the stamp duty and rent laws.